In January 2015, the school MolSim-2015 took place at the University of Amsterdam. The school hosted PhD and postdoc students working in the field of molecular simulation. MolSim-2015 was organized by the Amsterdam Center for Multiscale Modeling. 

  • Who: ACMM (Amsterdam Center for Multiscale Modeling) 
  • Where: University of Amsterdam
  • When: January 5-16, 2020

Molsim-2015 Program

The program consists of morning sessions with lectures, and afternoon sessions with hand-on exercises. There was a poster session organized, and during the weekend a social event. 

DayHourRoomLecturerCourseLecture Notes
Monday 5/109:00-09:15C0.110Evert Jan MeijerWelcome 
09:15-12:30C0.110Berend SmitIntro
Statistical Thermodynamics
13:30-16:00G.010, G0.23Lab Course
16:00Welcome drinks
Tuesday 6/109:00-12:30C0.110Berend SmitIntro Monte Carlo Basics
13:30-18:00G0.10, G0.23Lab Course
Wednesday 7/109:00-12:30C0.110Berend SmitIntro Molecular Dynamics
13:30-17:00G0.10, G0.23Lab Course
Thursday 8/109:00-12:30C0.110Daan FrenkelMC – Advanced Methods I
13:30-17:00G0.10, G0.23Lab Course
Friday 9/109:30-12:30C0.110Peter BolhuisAdvanced Methods II
13:30-18:00G0.10, G0.23Lab Course
Saturday 10/1Day Off
Sunday 11/116:00Social Event + Dinner
Monday 12/109:00-12:30C0.110Peter BolhuisRare Events
13:00-18:00G0.10, G0.23 Lab Course
Tuesday 13/109:00-12:30C0.110Evert Jan MeijerFree Energies and Phase Equilibria
13:30-18:00G0.10, G0.23Lab Course
Wednesday 14/1 09:00-10:30C0.110Evert Jan MeijerMD: Advanced Methods
11:00-12:30C0.110Sanne AbelnBiological Systems – Lattice Models
13:30-18:00G0.10, G0.23Lab Course
Thursday 15/109:00-12:30C0.110Thijs VlugtConfigurational Bias Monte Carlo
13:30-18:00G0.10, G0.23Lab Course
Friday 16/110:00-10:30Hall CCoffee
10:30-11:30C0.110Marjolijn DijkstraSoft Matter
~11:30C0.110Evert Jan MeijerClosing
All times are CET, Central European Times

Affiliation Lecturers

Nicola Marzari – EPFL
Tristan Bereau – University of Amsterdam and MPI Polymer Research 
Mohamad Moosavi – EPFL 
Kevin Jablonka – EPFL 
Sanne Abeln – Free University Amsterdam 
Thijs Vlugt – Delft University of Technology 
Daan Frenkel – University of Cambridge 
Berend Smit – EPFL
Bernd Ensing – University of Amsterdam 
David Dubbeldam – University of Amsterdam 
Peter Bolhuis – University of Amsterdam 
Evert Jan Meijer – University of Amsterdam